Value-adding Sustainability

Sustainability 4.0 –
Aligning business models
sustainably so that you profit
in the long term.

Once an abstract buzzword, today a relevant operational necessity

With the signing of the European Green Deal at the latest, sustainability has become a concrete criterion in the orientation and financing of companies. This means that, in addition to their economic value orientation, business models increasingly need to consider sustainability goals within the framework of the society/social and ecological dimensions (3-pillar model).

It is time for business models to focus on sustainability. Time to assign greater importance to the ecology and society/social dimensions. And time to set up your own corporate performance and resilience for the future with a targeted sustainability strategy.

From sustainability to value-enhancing sustainability

1. The starting point is the surveying of the current “level of sustainability maturity”.
2. Derivation of an individual sustainability strategy, geared towards increasing corporate value.
3. The progress of the process is documented within the context of sustainability reporting, which is to be developed in parallel.
4. The individual sustainability strategy takes effect, and begins to show results.

The benefits for you of a value-adding sustainability strategy

  • It should be much easier in future to raise funds.
  • Business models in crisis will increasingly in future have to allow themselves to be measured not only in terms of their economic success after restructuring, but by whether and to what extent they can fulfil ecological and social requirements.
  • In the ever-increasing competition to attract talented employees, a sustainable orientation will increasingly represent a competitive advantage.

And as for us: Sustainability and
Struktur Management Partner
 

Constant availability, in combination with a lot of business travel. How sustainable can the consulting sector actually be? How can our everyday working life be reconciled with active climate protection? It is not as if we have only just started dealing with these questions today. More than twelve years ago, we started to find ways to counteract the harmful effects of the greenhouse gas emissions we cause. This also includes all Scope-3 emissions – i.e. indirect emissions that arise in our company’s value chain.

Your company’s own ecological footprint and active
involvement in moorland bog protection
 

Year after year since 2009, SMP has supported the Succow Foundation, founded by Michael Succow, a pioneer of moorland bog research and protection, and winner of the alternative Nobel prize. And for good reason: Moorland bogs have been shown to be one of the largest and most effective carbon sinks of all terrestrial habitats. Despite their limited distribution area, they sequester one third of terrestrial carbon – twice as much as all the world’s forests put together. One demand of the Paris climate conference was therefore that moorland bogs must grow.

Blog article

Sustainability in consultancy work is a question of mindset.

Read now

*Only in German

Measurably successful.
Decidedly better.

We go even further: SMP draws up its own carbon footprint, verified by external experts, and compensates for (unavoided) CO2 emissions. For 2019, we did this predominantly in a very expensive but also very convincing way, namely by acquiring MoorFutures from the Nature Conservation Foundation of Schleswig-Holstein for the re-naturalisation of the Königsmoor moorland bog (Stiftung Naturschutz Schleswig-Holstein zur Renaturierung des Königsmoors) in the Rendsburg-Eckernförde district. There we offset 500 tonnes of CO2. The Königsmoor bog is part of a high moorland bog covering a total of around 1200 hectares, which was heavily drained over the course of the 20th century. One particular plus point of this project is transparency: The compensation areas can be visited because they are here in Germany. We have just calculated our emissions for the year 2020, and will also fully offset these.

Contact


Konrad Fröhlich
Senior Partner
Attorney-at-Law
Read More

David Südi
Partner
Diploma in Economics
Read More

Wertsteigernde Nachhaltigkeit

Nachhaltig­keit 4.0 – Geschäfts­modelle
nachhaltig ausrichten und dauerhaft profitieren.

Früher abstraktes Buzzword, heute relevante Handlungs­notwendig­keit

Spätestens mit dem European Green Deal manifestiert sich Nachhaltigkeit als konkretes Kriterium bei der Ausrichtung und Finanzierung von Unternehmen. Das heißt, Geschäftsmodelle bedürfen neben der ökonomisch wertorientierten Ausrichtung zunehmend auch der Betrachtung von Nachhaltigkeitszielen im Rahmen der Dimensionen Gesellschaft/Soziales sowie Ökologie (3-Säulen-Modell).

Es ist Zeit für eine nachhaltige Ausrichtung von Geschäftsmodellen. Zeit, den Dimensionen Ökologie und Gesellschaft/Soziales eine stärkere Bedeutung zuzumessen. Und Zeit, mit einer gezielten Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie die eigene unternehmerische Performance und Resilienz zukunftsfähig aufzustellen.

Von Nachhaltigkeit zur wertsteigernden Nachhaltigkeit

1. Startpunkt ist die Aufnahme des aktuellen „Nachhaltigkeits-Reifegrads“.
2. Ableitung einer individuellen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie, orientiert an unternehmerischer Wertsteigerung.
3. Der Fortschritt des Prozesses wird im Rahmen eines parallel zu entwickelnden Nachhaltigkeits-Reportings dokumentiert.
4. Die individuelle Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie greift und zeigt Wirkung.

Ihre Vorteile wertsteigernder Nachhaltigkeits­strategie

  • Finanzmittel lassen sich in Zukunft wesentlich leichter einwerben.
  • Geschäftsmodelle in der Krise werden sich zukünftig immer stärker daran messen lassen müssen, ob sie im restrukturierten Zustand nicht nur ökonomisch reüssieren, sondern auch, ob und in welchem Umfang sie die Anforderungen der Dimensionen Ökologie und Gesellschaft / Soziales erfüllen können
  • im immer größer werdenden Wettbewerb um talentierte Mitarbeiter verschafft eine nachhaltige Ausrichtung zunehmend einen Wettbewerbsvorteil

In eigener Sache: Nachhaltigkeit bei
Struktur Management Partner
 

Ständige Erreichbarkeit in Kombination mit vielen Geschäftsreisen. Wie nachhaltig kann die Consultingbranche eigentlich sein? Wie verträgt sich Arbeitsalltag mit aktivem Klimaschutz? Diese Fragen beschäftigen uns nicht erst seit heute. Vor über zwölf Jahren haben wir damit angefangen, Wege zu finden, wie wir den schädlichen Auswirkungen der durch uns verursachten Treibhausgasemissionen entgegenwirken können. Dies schließt auch alle Scope-3-Emissionen ein – also indirekte Emissionen, die in der Wertschöpfungskette unseres Unternehmens entstehen.

Eigene Klimabilanz und aktiver
Einsatz im Moorschutz
 

Seit 2009 unterstützt SMP Jahr für Jahr die Succow-Stiftung, gegründet vom Pionier der Moorforschung und des Moorschutzes und dem Träger des alternativen Nobelpreistes Michael Succow. Aus gutem Grund: Moore sind nachweislich einer der größten und effektivsten Kohlenstoffspeicher aller Landlebensräume. Sie binden trotz geringer Verbreitung ein Drittel des terrestrischen Kohlenstoffes – doppelt so viel wie alle Wälder dieser Erde zusammen. Eine Forderung der Klimakonferenz von Paris lautet daher: Moore müssen wachsen.

Blogartikel

Nachhaltigkeit in der Beratung ist eine Frage der Geisteshaltung.

Jetzt lesen

Zählbar erfolgreich.
Entschieden besser.

Wir gehen noch weiter: SMP stellt eine eigene, von externen Experten verifizierte Klimabilanz auf und kompensiert (nicht vermiedene) CO2-Emissionen. Für 2019 taten wir das überwiegend auf eine sehr teure, aber auch besonders überzeugende Weise, nämlich durch den Erwerb von MoorFutures der Stiftung Naturschutz Schleswig-Holstein zur Renaturierung des Königsmoors im Landkreis Rendsburg-Eckernförde. Wir kompensieren dort 500 Tonnen CO2. Das Königsmoor ist Teil eines insgesamt rund 1.200 ha großen Hochmoores, das im Verlauf des 20. Jahrhunderts stark entwässert wurde. Ein besonderer Pluspunkt dieses Projekts ist die Transparenz: Die Kompensationsflächen können wir direkt in Deutschland besichtigen. Unsere Emissionen des Jahres 2020 haben wir gerade errechnen lassen und werden diese ebenfalls vollständig kompensieren.

Ansprechpartner


Konrad Fröhlich
Senior Partner
Rechtsanwalt
Mehr erfahren

David Südi
Partner
Dipl.-Volkswirt
Mehr erfahren